Review: Birdseye Hotspots

BirdseyeHotspotsIn August, my mother bought an iPad for me to use on my trip to Long Point. Before I left for Long Point, I filled the iPad with a bunch of birding apps, including the Birdseye Hotspots, which I received from Drew at Nemesis Bird as a review copy.

The Birdseye Hotspot app was created by Birdseye Birding and Nemesis Code and quickly finds eBird hotspots wherever you are, around the world, as long as you are connected to WiFi.

Unfortunately, there are not a lot of hotspots in my area at home (in fact, there are only two).  But in Long Point, where we had WiFi (not at the Tip) there were many more, and I can see how useful the app could be for finding hotspots. I haven’t used the app very much because of the lack of hotspots in my area. However, if I get to visit a new area for birding, or if I ever get to do a Big Year, this app would come in very handy!

The two hotspots in my area

The two hotspots in my area

The app’s interface is very easy to use and intuitive. For every hotspot the app gives you, weather conditions, GPS coordinates and connects to Birdseye so you can see what species have been reported for that hotspot.

The app is compatible with iPads, iPhones, and iPod Touches. The price is just right, for $4.99 you can’t go wrong!

One thought on “Review: Birdseye Hotspots

  1. Pingback: Birding with an iPad, and a Contest! | Prairie Birder

Leave a comment