5 Great Holiday Gifts for Birders

Christmas is just around the corner and I thought it would be helpful again to list some present ideas! Some of these are things I would like to receive myself! Here is a link to a similar post I wrote last year with more ideas.

1. The Laws Guide to Drawing Birds is one of the books I would love to add to my bird book collection. As I’m trying to learn more about drawing birds, this book look very good and helpful.

2. I really like birding calendars, and my favorites are the ones by David Sibley. Here is The Birder’s Year 2013 calendar by David SibleyDavid Sibley also has posters of North American Hummingbirds, Backyard Eastern US BirdsBackyard Western US Birds, which are very nice too! More items by David Sibley can be seen here at his website.

3. Earlier this year I won an autographed copy of the Crossley ID Guide to Eastern Birds by Richard Crossley. It’s a wonderful book with terrific photos. I find it very helpful when I’m trying to figure out the age of raptors.

4. You can give a gift memberships to the American Birding AssociationBird Studies Canada, the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, or any other birding/nature groups. With all of these groups you will receive various publications and exclusive member info, and you know that you are supporting a good cause.

5. The new coffee-table book from National Geographic and the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Birds of Paradise: Revealing the World’s Most Extraordinary Birds. The cover looks beautiful, and I would really like to read it!

 

One thought on “5 Great Holiday Gifts for Birders

  1. Wow, the Nat Geo book certainly does look beautiful. It’s hard to go astray with some of the most peculiarly stunning birds as your subjects, but even so, they seem to have done a great job of it. I’ll have to look for it next time I’m at the book store!

Leave a Reply

