Quilling Birds

As well as my passion for birds, I also have one for quilling, and the two are easily combined. Quilling is a paper craft where you make pictures out of rolled lengths of paper.

For example, I made this chickadee  for my father’s birthday last month:

The start of a wren I am working on now,

The finished bird, just waiting for the rest of the card,

The completed card,

I first started quilling about three years ago, my mother gave a page a day quilling calendar, which started me on my way.  It was lots of fun, and soon I decided I wanted to learn more.  The first bird I made was a wren and the next one was a chickadee. I am hoping to make different kinds of birds including bluebirds, goldfinches, cardinals, and more wrens. I will be sure to post any more quilled birds I make!

Since the calendar I first used isn’t available any more, here’s a list of some of my favorite quilling resources:

Quilled Creations: supplies in the U.S. (they ship to Canada, too)

Paper Quilling: supplies in New Brunswick, Canada

My brothers and I like lots of Klutz kits (and my mother likes to buy them for friends’ and cousins’ birthdays), and I was happy to find out they have a quilling kit, which is great for kids, Twirled Paper: Make Almost Anything With Simple Paper Strips by Jacqueline Lee; you can also buy extra packs of more paper.

The Art of Paper Quilling: Designing Handcrafted Gifts and Cards by Claire Sun-ok Choi

The Book of Paper Quilling: Techniques & Projects for Paper Filigree by Malinda Johnston

(this is on sale now at Amazon.com and very good)

I also have another bird-related craft I made last year, perfect for Spring, which I will post about soon!

7 thoughts on “Quilling Birds

  1. That quilling stuff looks really cool! I’ve also never heard of it, but your photos are awesome. I wonder, is it hard to do? I like artistic things but I’m all thumbs and kinda impatient…. So usually I just admire what other people made!

  2. Pingback: Quilling Bird « Prairie Birder

Leave a Reply

